New (School) Year’s Resolutions

School has started again, and I know that for many, it’s a chance to reinvent or better themselves. As a senior in her third week of high school, I’ve had some time to reflect on improvements that I’d like to make to try to achieve self betterment. Many of these have to do with school itself, but others are more general.

So here we go, my new (school) year’s resolutions:

Fight Senioritis

So far, this has proven to be easier said than done, but I’m hoping that giving myself some free time after school before getting to work will make it less tempting to never do my work.

Stop Worrying about What Others Think

In school, I feel like we’re constantly judged. Part of this stems from the fact that I am also a judgey person. Since I know this is inevitable and just a part of high school, I’m trying my best to not let it concern me. I think the reason that this urge is weaker is because I know that I won’t see many of these people again, and that I’ll be with a whole new group of students coming next fall.

Stand Taller and with My Head Held High

The first is just a random issue; I slouch a lot. I never really noticed it before, but I have truly horrific posture. Secondly, all throughout high school, I’ve always walked with my head down. Now this isn’t to be taken literally, but if I’m walking down the hallway by myself, I’ll pretend to use my phone so that I don’t have to face others passing by. To be honest, I don’t know why I do this. I just feel extremely awkward walking down a hallway by myself; I think I’m paranoid that people are looking at and judging me. This problem isn’t completely fixed, I turn my head to the side instead of looking down, but hopefully, with time, it will no longer be an issue.

Stop Judging Others

Because I know first hand how hard school already is without constantly worrying about how others perceive you, I want to do my best to remove any extra, unnecessary  stress. Plus, it’s just a really nasty habit that I’ll be better off without.

Divide My Time

This means that I’ll try to get better at designating time for homework, college apps, my blog, my personal life, and tv. I haven’t really made a schedule or anything, but I’m hoping that I’ll be able to dedicate 30 minutes to blogging everyday.

Live a Healthier Life

This includes eating better, exercising more, and sleeping more. So far, the only one I’ve worked on enough is eating better. I make my own lunches now, so I’m able to choose what snacks I want to put in it, or how much mayo I want on a sandwich. As for exercising, I try to follow the Blogilates calendar, but I’m just so lazy. I’m also trying to get better at going to sleep on time, since during school it’s very rare that I get 8 hours of sleep a night.

So this was just a quick update and a little more about me. I know that this isn’t a beauty post, but I’m hoping to get one out this weekend!

♡ Melissa

So, What Did You Think?

