Ipsy Bag: July 2013

If you read my update post, you would know that my first Ipsy bag was damaged. I expected Ipsy to replace one item, because it’s their policy, but I was pleasantly surprised when I received a whole new bag. The second bag was different from my first, so I got more than 5 products this month.

DSC05681

This month’s theme was “Beach Beauty” and the items I received were:

  1. BH Cosmetics California Collection Eyeshadow Sampler (2)
  2. Coola Mineral Sunscreen SPF 20 Unscented
  3. Pop Beauty Pouty Pop Crayons in Coral Crush and Rose Romance
  4. Derma e Microdermabrasion Scrub
  5. Benetint
  6. Big Sexy Hair Weather Proof Hairspray and Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Renewal Beach Spray

BH Cosmetics California Collection Eyeshadow Sampler (≈ $2.69 each)

california collection

Upon first glance, I had high hopes for this eyeshadow trio. I’d received BH Cosmetics samples before and those were always great. On top of that, the packaging and shadow sizes are a huge improvement from the previous ones. Unfortunately, this sample fell flat. I was not impressed with the pigmentation at all. It took numerous swipes to get the color to pay off. Also, they aren’t very creamy. Of the three colors, the gold one from the Malibu was the best. It was the most pigmented and the smoothest. The purple is no where near as dark as it looks in the pan and middle color is more bronze-y in swatch, which I would love if the pay off was good.

Coola Mineral Sunscreen SPF 20 Unscented (≈ $4.87)

coola

There isn’t much to say about this product. It’s a sunscreen. In reality, I like it, but I wouldn’t pay full price for it. I like that it doesn’t have that typical sunscreen-y scent and that it’s not greasy. It goes on like a normal moisturizer, but obviously has SPF.

Pop Beauty Pouty Pop Crayons in Coral Crush and Rose Romance (≈ $4.17 each)

Pouty Pop Crayon

This product instantly made me think of the Tarte LipSurgence lip tints. I like the right coral color, but it’s not the most flattering on my lips. When I saw that I got a second one, I was excited, but that one ended up being like a nude. I doesn’t look good on its own, but I use it as a concealer so that others colors will be more bright. Overall, you get a decent amount of product. Unlike the Tarte lip tints, when you twist the product all the way up, you get quite a bit. These lip crayons are pretty moisturizing and the longevity isn’t too bad. The first time I used one, I ate, and went to retouch to find out that it wasn’t necessary. The one thing that this product doesn’t do is “create a plumped and pillowy pout.” There is zero plumping done.

Derma e Microdermabrasion Scrub ($16.25)

derma e

I was most excited to test out this product! I love everything and anything skin related. I’m especially crazy about microdermabrasion treatments. Anything that helps to clear skin and fade scars, I’m all over. This product contains dead sea salt along with volcanic sand to help break up scar tissue and exfoliate. It also has lime and lemon peel astringents which gives it its heavenly scent.  I’ve used the product three times, so I can’t tell if its helped to clear my scars, but my skin always feels smooth after using it. Though I can’t tell yet if it’s working, I’m hoping that I’ll see some results in a couple of months!

Benetint ($6.00) benetint

I received a sample of Benetint before from a Sephora lip package, and I was thrilled to try it out because I heard so many people raving about it. In the end, I didn’t think it was that great, so I ended up giving it away. When I saw that I got it again in this month’s bag, I was curious about trying it out again, thinking I might like it a second time around. In the end, I didn’t really care for it. I really wanted to love it because so many others did, but as of right now, it’s not too exciting for me.

Big Sexy Hair Weather Proof Hairspray and Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Renewal Beach Spray (≈ $7.80/$6.65)

DSC05688

I got my first July package the same week as my senior pictures. When I was that I got the weather proof hairspray over the beach spray, I was disappointed. I was hoping to get it because I wore headband curls and I wanted that beach-y look. Though I preferred the beach spray, I was still happy with the hairspray. I was hoping that it would keep my waves in tact in the Houston humidity. In the end, I feel like that spray did an okay job. When looking in the mirror and in person, my waves looked intact, but unfortunately, in my senior portraits, my hair looked surprisingly flat. As for the beach spray, I haven’t personally used it, but lent it to my cousin. She’s been experimenting with beach waves herself (for her Vegas trip) and I told her she could test out the spray.

TOTAL BAG PRICE: ≈ $55.29

That’s it! I’m already at work testing out all the items I got in my August bag, so hopefully it’ll be out soon! (I know I say that all the time :P)

I hope everyone is enjoying the last week before school! I’m personally really busy and should be working on summer assignments, but I would rather blog and share all things beauty with you guys!

♡ Melissa

 

So, What Did You Think?

