Update: Senior Pics and July Ipsy Bag

Hey guys! Happy Friday!

So this is just another update. I’m still working on my June Bag post; I actually took the pictures for it yesterday, so that should be up shortly. I also went home yesterday for the first time this week and received my July Ipsy bag. Opening the shiny, hot pink envelope is a of highlight of each month. I get so excited! I feel like a kid on Christmas morning! Unfortunately, I was faced with disappoint this month because something in my bag exploded.

IMG_20130719_011152

I’m gonna be honest, I don’t know which product it was because everything was sealed. It also didn’t smell like any of the products that I received. I had to assume it was the sunscreen because the packaging was fairly empty. I emailed Ipsy requesting to replace the damaged sunscreen, and it might take a while for them to send it to me. This means that my July post will take even longer than normal (I know right. How is that possible??), since I’ll be waiting for the replacement.

Besides that, I’m taking my senior portraits tomorrow! I’ve been practicing and prepping for a while. I got my eyebrows done Saturday, I’m been experimenting with my Urban Decay Naked 2 palette on and off for about 2 months now, and I got a new face wash. The face wash I got was the acne line from Murad. I’ve used it before, but never continually, so I’ll most likely make a review post on that sometime in the near future. Another aspect I’ve been experimenting with is my hair. For my pictures, I decided to go with light beachy waves. In order to perfect the method for the big day, I’ve been practicing and modifying my technique. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get a tutorial for my headband curls if ya’ll are interested!

As for the makeup, I received my Naked 2 palette last year for Christmas, but this is the first time I’ve really broken it in. Though I love all things beauty, I’m not that great with eyeshadow. For the longest time, I never had to use it. I didn’t party (awkward, nerdy kids don’t get invited to things like that), and my dad was against me wearing so much makeup. Now that I’m a little older, he doesn’t mind it as much. Also, I felt like experimenting with such a high quality product was a waste. I felt like I should just stick to Elf palettes and other products from the drug store. But then one day, I just said screw it! I had it, so why not use it? It would have been a waste all the same if I just let it sit there. With this new frame of mind, I began putting on makeup every day, even if I was at home. While my family thought this was silly, what better way to improve and hone my skills? If it looked awful, then I would be at home and no one would see it. Plus, if I never practiced, how would I expect to get better? Everyone has to start somewhere. All those wonderful gurus on Youtube weren’t born knowing how to apply flawless makeup. They were passionate about it and got better and more creative every time. Since I’m starting to get more comfortable with the palette, I’ve started using multiple combinations of the colors, but my eye looks have never been super defined or smokey. They are more neutral, but that’s because I’m not yet comfortable wearing smokey makeup during the day.

If you follow my Instagram, you’ve probably seen some of the looks I’ve been playing with without even noticing it.

you can see my headband curls here ^

I know you can’t really see any of the colors and what not, but whatever.

I hope everyone is enjoying their Friday and that you have a great rest of the week! Wish me luck tomorrow!

What do you think I should do for my nails? Also, if you want a post/tutorial about anything I’ve talked about, like this post and let me know in the comments!

~Melissa

One thought on “Update: Senior Pics and July Ipsy Bag

So, What Did You Think?

