Ipsy Bag: May 2013

Hey guys! I know that we are well into the June, so I apologize for taking soo long to get this out. Hopefully, my June bag, which I just got today, will be up sometime within the next couple of weeks. With that being said, let’s get in to this bag!

DSC05544

So, this month theme was “Spring Fling” and the 5 items I received were:

  1. Zoya Nail Polish in Gie Gie
  2. Juice Beauty Reflecting Gloss in Fig
  3. Pacifica Roll-On Perfume in Tahitian Gardenia
  4. Yaby Concealer in Vanilla
  5. NuMe Finishing Serum

Zoya Nail Polish ($8)

Gei Gei

DSC05560

When I first saw that I Zoya package in my bag, I was so stoked. I’ve never tried any Zoya products, so I was really looking forward to it. Unfortunately, this color was a bit of a disappointment. I’m not a big fan of sheer colors, and on top of that, I got a sheer pink last month. In general, this polish isn’t too bad. It’s actually a really pretty color with a gorgeous pearly finish, but I was hoping for a brighter, more opaque color since summer is around the corner. Aside from the color, I enjoyed this polish. It’s a low maintenance polish that goes on very smoothly.

Juice Beauty Reflecting Gloss ($7.50)

juice beauty gloss

Upon opening the box and seeing this color, I was concerned. I was worried that this gloss was too dark and too mature for me. Though I had my doubts, when I tried it, I was very pleased. In reality, the color isn’t as dark as it appears to be in the tube. In the tube, the colors looks like a dusty, rusty, brownish color that old ladies would wear, but it’s more of a bronze-y, pinkish rose gold… If that makes sense. I’m horrible at describing things, but this gloss is beautiful and I like it. Unfortunately, it’s not very moisturizing and although it smells delicious, it tastes awful. On the plus side, it’s easy to work with. It has a simple doe foot applicator and isn’t sticky.

Pacifica Roll-On Perfume ($12)

DSC05552

I was excited when I received another Pacifica product this month! A couple of months ago, I got a body butter from them and I loved it. It smelled amazing! Since I got that lotion, I considered looking in to more items from them, but they are a tad pricey. This makes me so happy that I’ll be able to test out the perfume in a different scent this month. This scent is definitely a floral, which isn’t necessarily something I normally go for. It is described as a “sweet, smooth and slightly citrusy aroma [that] is reminiscent of Jasmine, Sweet Orange and Tea Leaves.” This scent isn’t my favorite, but the perfume is nice. I would say that it has average longevity but is moderately strong. Though the perfume is nice and I’ll be able to get a lot of use out of it, I think I would have preferred to get the Luminizing Body Butter.

Yaby Concealer ($4.85)

concealer

This concealer is my least favorite product this month. First off, the color is wayy off. I was thinking that this could have been my fault because I chose the wrong skin tone for my quiz, so I double checked what I put. I said that I had tan/olive colored skin and they gave me vanilla. Since this color is too light for my face, I decided that I would try to use it for my under eyes. When looking for an under eye concealer, you want it to be a couple of shades lighter than your actual skin tone, so I thought this would be perfect. Unfortunately, it was still too light for that. As a last resort, I’ve started using it as a highlighter after I apply my normal under eye concealer. As a type of highlighter/Eye Bright, it works relatively well. In general, this concealer is okay, but I wouldn’t repurchase it.

NuMe Finishing Serum (≈ $4.79)

DSC05553

I was a little bummed about getting this product because it was so similar to the hair serum I got last month. They literally have the same instructions! When looking at the bottle, I expected this to have the same consistency as oil, but it has more of a gel-like texture. If you look at this picture, it looks like I’ve used quite a bit, but I’ve probably only used it a handful of times. All in all, this serum does it’s job, but is nothing special.

TOTAL BAG PRICE: ≈ $37.14

I liked this month’s bag! Not only did I get a lot of useful full-sized products, but I felt like this was the first time the bags were personalized. When you first sign up, you take a quiz so that the company can get a feel for what products you would be interested in or need. Though they’ve had access to everyone’s personal information for a long time, I felt like everyone always got the same products. The only variation was in color. This month though, I came across many people that got different products, which I thought was pretty cool.

I hope you guys liked this post! Actually, let me know what you prefer. Do you like when I make a blog post right away and give first impression reviews or do you prefer them to be like this one, where I actually have time to fully review the products? Please let me know in the comments which you enjoy more!

Anyways, I hope that everyone is having a fun, safe summer and I promise to update as soon as I can!

What did you think of the May bag? What were your favorite products?

~Melissa

2 thoughts on “Ipsy Bag: May 2013

So, What Did You Think?

