Claire’s Nail Art Stamping Kit Review

I’ve noticed that many people are interested in the Nail Art Stamping Kit from Claire’s. Because of this, I’ve decided that it’s time I posted a short review. I’ve had the stamping kit for a while now, but this is the first time I’m using it.

This kit includes:

  • 3 stamping plates
  • A white polish
  • A scraper
  • A stamper

If you follow me on Instagram, you would have seen a picture of these items ages ago. If not, I have included higher quality pictures here:

DSC04635

On this plate: stripes, zebra print, cheetah print, polka dots, and netting print

DSC04636

The same thing as the plate above but only for tips.

DSC04638

On this plate: Peace signs, hearts, a bow, stars, and a butterfly.

DSC04634

DSC04633

My scraper is a little messed up; it’s crooked.

DSC04631

Rubber stamper.

Okay, now to the nails. I’m going to be honest, my nails look horrible.

DSC04626

The only finger that looks slightly decent is my pinky finger.

DSC04627

On this hand, I tried bows and a star.

I wouldn’t say that this kit is hard to use, but it just takes some practice. The only concern I have is with the bigger fingers. As you can see from the first picture, I attempted to stamp dolka dots on my thumb, but the stamp didn’t cover nearly enough of my nail. I’m not really sure how you’re supposed to stamp it a second time and make sure it matches up correctly. Maybe you just need to angle it another way, I’m not sure.

All in all, I like this kit, but you definitely have to dedicate your time to it because it obviously takes more time than a normal manicure. I think that it’s worth the $10 because if you look online many people sell the same pieces (individually),  and if you add them all up, they end up being the same price or more.

Here are some tips that may help you when using this kit:

  • Make sure you work on top of newspaper or cardboard because it can get messy.
  • If your scraper is messed up like mine, use an old giftcard; it works better than the scraper
  • Make sure you already have nail polish mover by you. You’re going to need it to wipe off the stamper in between nails.
  • I would use a polish you don’t really care about or one that is inexpensive when you first start out. I feel like when you start out, you’re going to have to work with the stamp for a little bit before your nails look as good as you want them to. Because of this, I wouldn’t use a color that you are particularly fond of because you might waste it.
  • When you use a smaller design like the hearts, bows, peace signs, etc., you need to work fast. Once you scrape off the excess polish, you need to press the stamp to the plate promptly to ensure that you get the whole design on the stamper. As you can tell from the second picture of my nails, I had that same problem, so not all of the bow transferred over.
  • When you scrape off the excess polish, make sure you move it out of reach of the stamper. Either scrape it above the design or to the sides of it. You can also completely wipe the excess off the plate. I have a random white strip on my thumb in the second picture for this exact reason. I scraped the excess polish below the bow, but it still transferred on the stamp.
  • Before you stamp the design on your finger, hold the stamp over your finger to figure out where you want to place it and gently roll it over your finger.

In general, I think this kit is great for any person who likes nail art, but it might take some time getting used to. Or maybe that won’t happen, maybe it’s just me :P

Anyways, I hope this was helpful, and if you have any other questions about this product, let me know in the comments below!

~ Melissa

So, What Did You Think?

