Pop Beauty Smoky Lash Kapow!!! Review

I just finished trying this new mascara from my February Ipsy Bag. I didn’t know what to expect, and I’m glad to say, I really like this mascara. I feel like mascara reviews are better with pictures than words, so here we go. *Ignore my red eyes, I have naturally dry eyes, and they got worse because I kept holding them open to try to get decent pictures.

DSC04556

My plain lashes vs 1 coat of the mascara

DSC04581

2 coats of mascara on each eye

DSC04572

My bare lashes

DSC04573

1 coat of mascara. Sorry for the blurry picture, I didn’t notice it was that bad until I uploaded it!

DSC04574

2 coats of mascara

DSC04583

A side view of my lashes.

As you can tell from the beginning picture, I have long-ish lashes, but they are very thin and sparse. They are so thin that without mascara, they seem non existant. When I normally use mascara, I first prime my lashes with Diorshow Maximizer Lash Plumping Serum, but in order to correctly test this mascara out, I skipped that step.

With that being said, I think this mascara did a great job! The mascara is very black and helps to make my lashes look much more volumized. They make my lashes look a little clumpy, but I prefer that. Actually, if you let the mascara dry between coats, it gets pretty clumpy, so if you prefer neater lashes, I would recommend finishing one eye before you move on to the next. I would work fast because this mascara dries pretty fast. Shortly after applying the mascara, I ran my finger under my lashes, and no mascara rubbed off. Hopefully this means that their won’t be any smearing or smudging. I won’t have this on for very long, so I won’t be able to test that out now, but I will edit this post when I do.

*edit: I have worn this mascara for about an hour and it smudges. This may because I have oily skin or it just smears in general. This problem may be fixed if I use a primer first or use a clear coat over the mascara.

Have you tried this mascara? What do you think of it? 

Thanks for stopping by!

~ Melissa

So, What Did You Think?

