Ipsy Bag: February 2013

Guess what came in today? As you can tell from the title, it was my February bag!

DSC04541

This month’s theme is “Red Carpet Ready.” My bag included 5 items:

  1. Pixi Flawless and Poreless Primer
  2. MICA Beauty Gel Liner in LC 48 (?)
  3. Pop Beauty Smoky Lash Kapow!!! in No. 1 Smoky Black
  4. Coastal Scents Min Eyeshadow Quad in In the Spotlight
  5. Lash Card Mascara Shields

Since I just received my bag, I haven’t had time to try out any of the products, but if I end up really liking them, I’ll do an individual post. For now, I’ll talk about the products in order.

Pixi is a brand that you can get from Target, but despite this, I haven’t actually tried any of the products. Because of this, I’m pretty excited that this was included in this month’s bag. I especially love trying new primers since my skin is super oily and I’m always trying to find a primer that keeps all the oil at bay. The bottle says that this primer is:

Oil free. Hydrating. Hypoallergenic. For all skin types.

This primer doesn’t feel like a typical silicone based primer; its creamy and slightly tinted. Unfortunately, it has a slight scent that reminds me of the “play” makeup that you give to little kids.

DSC04545

Pixi Flawless and Poreless Primer

I’ve never heard of the brand Mica Beauty, but the gel liner just reminds me of the Maybelline one, so I’ll have to see what the quality is like.

DSC04554

If I could only have one beauty product, it would be mascara, so I’m always excited to get new samples even though I have plenty. I’ve also never used Pop beauty even though I see their products at Ulta all the time. I’m really excited about this mascara and will let you know what I think!

DSC04543

The wand for the Pop Beauty mascara

In a previous bag, I received a Coastal Scents Quad, but I like this one better. The colors are so beautiful and pigmented. I also feel that while they seem kind of intimidating (I usually stick to neutrals), they appear surprisingly wearable. The colors included in this quad include (Left to right, Top to Bottom): Dark Goldenrod, Sunbeam, Golden Globe, and Dark Golden Olive.

DSC04555

DSC04546

DSC04548

DSC04549

Left to right: Dark Goldenrod, Sunbeam, Golden Globe, Dark Golden Olive

Lastly, when I pulled the Lash Card package out of the bag, I got super excited. Once I opened the little package, I was kinda disappointed.  I read “mascara shields” and thought that it would be a plastic, guitar pick-esque mascara shields (like the one that comes with the Eyeko Skinny Brush Mascara), but instead they were just disposable paper ones. I was looking forward to this product because my lashes are so thin and sparse. I always manage to get mascara all over my eyelid, and using a Q-Tip often disrupts and smashes my lashes together, so this could potentially be a lifesaver. Anyways, the package includes 4 shields (which are printed backwards O.O) and each one has a large curve and a small curve.

DSC04550

DSC04551

DSC04552

Hopefully these still perform well, and if they do I’ll definitely let you guys know!

So that’s it for this month’s bag! I hope you enjoyed this post and have a great evening!

~ Melissa

3 thoughts on “Ipsy Bag: February 2013

    • The packaging is a little cheap, but it gets the job done. It holds the product and it hasn’t been damaged either time I got the quads, so I can’t complain.

      P.S. I just added another picture of the packaging so you can get a better feel of what it’s like!

    • Sorry I just realized I only responded to half of the comment. I can’t give too indepth of a review since I haven’t used the shadows yet, but they are beautiful. The colors are smooth and very pigmented. The swatches I took were from me tapping my finger on the eyeshadow. That’s how great the color pay off is! I hope that gives you a better idea of what the product is like. If you have any other questions feel free to let me know! Thanks for taking the time to read my blog; I really appreciate it!

So, What Did You Think?

