Just Organize It: School Work

Today, I’m coming to you guys with a non beauty/shopping post. I’ve had this post in mind for a while, and hoped I could post it just before I started school again, but that didn’t happen. This post is going to be about organizing your things for school. (Sorry for the cheesy title, I was trying to be clever >.<) I’ll be the first to admit that I often throw papers together and spend precious time looking for them instead of doing something productive. This year, instead of doing that, I’m trying to stay more organized. Before, I would carry 3 binders, 2-3 notebooks, and a folder to school. All of that, on top of my lunch, makes for a very heavy backpack.

 

The things I used to carry to school almost everyday.

The things I used to carry to school almost everyday.

This semester, I normally only carry a binder, a folder, and 1-2 notebooks. This has obviously lightened by load tremendously.

The things I now carry to school everyday.

The things I now carry to school everyday.

The reason I am able to carry so much less is because of this baby:

The lifesaver that changed it all. My friend said she got this from Office Depot, but I can't find it online.

The lifesaver that changed it all. My friend said she got this from Office Depot, but I can’t find it online.

I first came across something similar to this in my AP English class. My friend had a folder that had 4 pockets instead of the standard two. I’m a huge school supplies buff, so when I saw that, I thought it was the coolest thing ever. I literally talked about it for 5 minutes. After jokingly saying that I wanted one for Christmas, I ended up getting one, but mine was even better, which I didn’t think was possible.

My folder has 8 pockets, so I would have space for each class plus an extra, but since I have a free period, I actually have 2 pockets left over. I’ve organized my folder like so:

  1. Loose leaf paper/important papers (ie. report cards and calendars)
  2. 1st Period
  3. 2nd Period
  4. 3rd Period
  5. 4th Period
  6. 5th Period
  7. 7th Periods
  8. Random papers/Sticky notes

The reason I keep sticky notes is because instead of lugging around a notebook/agenda, I just place a sticky note on the 2nd pocket and write all my assignments on there. I find that this is easier because if I do my homework everyday, I’ll be forced to see the sticky notes each day, which ensures that I see all the things that I have due. Before, I wouldn’t really care about my agenda, and I wouldn’t check it everyday, so it was kinda worthless. This way, I see it everyday, and it’s one less thing I have to carry.

DSC04498

Pocket 1: Calendars and Important Papers
Pocket 2: 1st Period papers w/ Agenda

My agenda!

My agenda!

When the front is filled, I just fold the sticky note over and write on the back.

When the front is filled, I just fold the sticky note over and write on the back.

The last pocket, which is where I keep a formula chart from Geometry and my sticky notes of various sizes.

The last pocket, which is where I keep a formula chart from Geometry and my sticky notes of various sizes.

 

Even though I have  this bad ass folder to help keep things more organized, I still often put papers in the wrong folder if I’m in a rush, or if I still have things out when the bell rings. Because of this, I try to make sure I go through my folder each night. I try to remove graded papers and put them in the binders that I previously carried to school. I also make sure that I focus on some of the pockets with more papers, so that I can prevent breaking along the bottom.

So that’s it for my first organizational post! I hope you enjoyed it and that you found my “tips” helpful. If you want more posts like this, comment below. If ya’ll find this useful, my next post will be another school related one. It will (hopefully) help with certain math formulas/ things on SYKMC (I’m not sure if everyone has this, but it stands for Stuff You Must Know Cold, which is just a list of things that you are expected to know on the spot).

~ Melissa

2 thoughts on “Just Organize It: School Work

  1. This is the worst thing ever invented because I would use a paper folder and it comes in almost every color and I put all my school papers in the pocket that is on the right side it is so light to carry and the only things I put in my backpack is one folder a notebook planner pen textbooks if needed keys tissue skateboard tool drink and that’s it so go with my idea not hers I have used This method for 2 years now

    • I personally just don’t like the colored paper folders because I find that they tear so easily. Of course every folder is going to break down eventually, but I feel like the paper ones break down the fastest. Also for me, I have more than just individual sheets of paper. I have notes and packets and they won’t all fit on the right side. I’m happy you have a method that works for you! Thanks for commenting!

So, What Did You Think?

