DIY: Green Tea Acne Scar Mask

So today, I had the day off. It’s finals week and I was exempt from both my 1st and 2nd period, so it was a loungy kind of day. I woke up super early, thanks to my brother, read in bed, watched a movie, and then ate leftover Pappasito’s (YUM). When I was eating, I noticed that the roof of my mouth was really sensitive. I thought I was getting an ulcer (Is that what they’re called in English? I only know what they’re called in Chinese xD). Because I wanted to get rid of it before it got worse, I decided to brew some green tea. Once I finished my tea, I thought I would make this mask from Bubzbeauty! I recently had a hormonal breakout, so I was hoping that this mask would help with the scars that are forming/going to form because I’m a crazy picker.

Ingredients/Supplies:

IMG_20130603_122751

  • Green Tea Bag (brewed)
  • Honey
  • Rice Flour
  • 2 spoons
  • A small bowl

Directions:

  • Brew some green tea and drink it. Save the tea bag.
IMG_20130603_120746

All these pictures were taken with my new Nexus 4, which has cool filters kinda like insta.

  • Squeeze all the tea from the tea bag. Bubz doesn’t mention this step, and I didn’t, so my mask turned out a little too wet. It doesn’t affect anything, either way, it’s up to you.
  • Tear open the bag and empty the leaves out in to the bowl.

IMG_20130603_122847

  • Add about 3/4 a tablespoon of honey. Bubz added a whole tablespoon, but I didn’t feel the need since my tea bag had fewer leaves than her. If your honey is stuck at the bottom, microwave it for about 10-15 seconds and it’ll be perfect.

Mask

  • Mix the tea leaves and the honey.

IMG_20130603_123324

  • Add some rice flour and stir. I didn’t use any measurements. I just kept adding until I got a consistency that I liked.

Mask 2

Application:

  1. Use a gentle cleanser and wash your face. I use Neutrogena’s Deep Clean Long-Last Shine Control Cleanser/Mask.
  2. Spoon the mask on to your fingertips.
  3. Distribute it all over your face and massage with your. (Make sure you’re standing over a sink because the leaves will fall off when you massage your face) Bubz did it for 5 minutes, but I just did whatever. If your mask gets too dry to massage any longer, you can just wet your fingers a tiny bit and that will get it moist enough for you to continue.
  4. Rinse your face with warm water until all of the mask is gone.
  5. Splash your face with cold water to close your pores.
  6. Apply your daily moisturizer, I use Clean and Clear’s Essential Dual Action Moisturizer
pic20130603131329

My dorky snapchatting…

Since this is my first time using this mask, I can’t tell if it does any good. In order to see results, you would have to use it multiple times, obviously. While I can’t guarantee that it will help with acne scars, it did make my face feel extremely soft and supple. If you have these ingredients around the house, I say go for it! What do you have to lose? If don’t have all of these ingredients, Buz has some alternative methods in her video.

So that’s it! I hope you guys liked this post! Like this for more DIYs.

Did you try out this mask? How did you like it? What’s your favorite DIY home remedy? Post any in the comments! I love looking at new DIY beauty remedies!

~Melissa

One thought on “DIY: Green Tea Acne Scar Mask

  1. Pingback: Womens Healthy World | 101 Amazing Green Tea Recipes

So, What Did You Think?

